| A Special Tribute | A Tribute to Sponsors | Members 1972 - 2014 | Hall of Fame Background |
| Board Members 1971 - 2005 | Saskatchewan Agriculture - A Capsule History | Induction Criteria


Thomas Griffin Bobier

Tom Bobier, farm leader, was born at Wallaceburg, Ontario, October 27, 1890, and received his schooling at Wardsville, Ontario. He came west on a harvest excursion in 1908, working first in the Winnipeg area. The following year he took out a homestead in the Courval district of Saskatchewan where he farmed until retirement.

An active community worker, he helped organize the local rural municipality in 1912 and served as a councillor. In 1915 he was elected reeve. He helped organize the first school district and served as trustee and secretary-treasurer of the school board. He was appointed justice of the peace and fulfilled this function for 14 years.

His first association with the farm movement came when he joined the Saskatchewan Grain Growers Association. In 1923 and 1924 he helped organize the signing of the first Saskatchewan Wheat Pool contracts in his district. He himself was member No. 11. He was elected as Saskatchewan Wheat Pool delegate in 1928 and to the board of directors in 1936. He was named second vice-president in 1953 and first vice-president in 1955. He retired from the board in 1962.

Representing the Pool in the Saskatchewan Federation of Agriculture, Tom Bobier was elected president of that body in 1955 and held that post until 1962. He also served as chairman of the Western Agricultural Conference from 1955 to 1962. He was on the board of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture from 1956 to 1954 and represented that national body at conferences of the International Federation of Agricultural Producers in London, Paris, Rome, New Delhi, Mexico City, Washington, Brussels, and Dubrovnik, Yugoslavia.

Tom Bobier was a director of Canadian Pool Agencies, Pool Insurance Company, Canadian Co-operative Wheat Producers, Co-operative Life Insurance and Co-operative Fire and Casualty.

"Nominated for the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame, 1983
by the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool and the Saskatchewan Federation of Agriculture"

The information contained in this website is the property of the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame. When using information from the website please acknowledge the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame as the information source.

© 2014 Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame