| A Special Tribute | A Tribute to Sponsors | Members 1972 - 2014 | Hall of Fame Background |
| Board Members 1971 - 2005 | Saskatchewan Agriculture - A Capsule History | Induction Criteria


Beatrice Janet Trew

Beatrice Janet Trew, a leader in farm organization, rural womenís organizations, politics and church groups, was born in Coates Mills, New Brunswick. She received teacher training in Fredericton, New Brunswick, and taught for two years in that province before coming west in 1917 to a school at Manor, Sask. The following year she moved to a teaching position at Lemsford, Sask., and it was here she met and married J. Albert Trew, a district farmer.

When the Lemsford Homemakers Club was formed in 1920 she was elected first secretary-treasurer. She later rose to the presidency of the Swift Current district Homemakers. She resigned this position in 1944 when she was elected Member of the Legislative Assembly for Maple Creek. Defeated on her bid for re-election as an MLA in 1948, she returned to her active role in Homemakers and local church. She received a life membership in the Lemsford Homemakers Club.

In addition to serving one term as MLA, Mrs. Trew was a member of the national council of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF) for 11 years and vice-president of the Saskatchewan section of the party for eight years.

When the Saskatchewan Farmers Union was organized in 1950 she and her husband joined. She became womenís district director in 1953. In 1958 Mrs. Trew was elected womenís president of the provincial farm union, a post she held for five years. She represented farm union women at three meetings of the Associated Country Women of the World, at Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1959; at Melbourne, Australia, in 1962, and in Michigan in 1965.

Mrs. Trew was a member of the Thompson Advisory Planning Committee on Medical Care which, in 1961, laid the groundwork for Canadaís first universal medical care plan. The committee study took her to England, Holland, Norway, Sweden and Denmark.

"Nominated for the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame, 1978
by the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool."

The information contained in this website is the property of the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame. When using information from the website please acknowledge the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame as the information source.

© 2014 Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame