top of page

Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame announces 2023 inductees

Release date: Tuesday January 10, 2023, 1:30 p.m.

Saskatoon – The Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame is proud to announce five exceptional

individuals who will be inducted into the hall later this spring.


Making up the list of inductees for 2023

are Bill Huber, Kevin Hursh, Dorothy Long, John McKinnon, and Laurie Tollefson.

“The 2023 inductees highlight the depth and commitment people have in

improving and promotingSaskatchewan agriculture,” said Reed Andrew,

president of the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame.

The inductees will be formally inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural

Hall of Fame at a ceremonyin Saskatoon on Saturday, April 15, 2023.

A brief overview of the recipients’ accomplishments is below:

Bill Huber has represented many agriculture programs across Canada and the United States and has

worked on many projects to improve agriculture policies, including his work as the president of the

Inland Terminals of Canada. He and his wife, Jan, have hosted numerous field days on their farm for

farmers all over the world.

Kevin Hursh is known as the “trusted voice of agriculture.” As a journalist, Kevin revolutionized

agriculture and farm reporting in the province as host of ‘Farmgate’ with CTV Saskatchewan. Kevin now

shares his knowledge through consulting and remains the go-to media and communications person for

many agricultural industry organizations.

Dorothy Long uses her background in home economics to advance consumer knowledge by teaching

about society’s connection to food and farming. Her passion for agriculture led her to being

instrumental in organizing and guiding farm tours for dietitians, journalists, and food writers with the

goal of connecting rural and urban residents.

John McKinnon started his career as a beef specialist before diving into academia. With a PhD in animal

science, much of his beef nutrition research focused on the use of by-products. Throughout his career,

his projects continually worked to improve efficiencies or lower production costs. John was also a

founding organizer of the Western Canadian Feedlot Management School.

Laurie Tollefson recently retired from director of Canada – Saskatchewan Irrigation and Diversification

Centre and continues to share his experience, knowledge, and vision. He is one of the few Canadians to

hold the position of vic- president of the International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage and he

was instrumental in bringing the International Conference on Irrigation and Drainage to the province.

Join us to honour the inductees by attending the ceremony on April 15, 2023, at Prairieland Park in

Saskatoon. For more information and to purchase tickets, follow the link below:

You can visit the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame Gallery on the upper level of the Western

Development Museum in Saskatoon.

Inductees 2023
bottom of page